I downloaded the new Anki (2.0) yesterday. It’s quite a different setup to the original one and has a lot smoother and slicker feel. Editing cards seems to be easier and you can make cool things as subdecks (as well as browse all decks at once).

Perhaps the most useful change is that you can schedule a certain amount of cards per day so you don’t come back after a few days and see a couple thousand cards piled up. This has been one of the reasons it’s been hard to get back into using Anki regularly. 

Katz over at AJATT has hammered the importance of deleting cards that for whatever reason you don’t like them. Perhaps they just don’t feel right, or they are too long, or they have two many unknown words, or you keep on getting them wrong. Although I’ve always agreed in theory, it’s much harder putting it into practice. But this morning I was in a foul mood and suspended a bunch of cards that were really long and unwieldy. (Suspending is final enough that I don’t have to worry about them at all and yet if I get nostalgic I can always look over them and see if there is any I like or as I learn more words are easier to understand and reinstate them.)

Every card I deleted made me like my Anki deck more and more — and consequently I did many more reviews than I’ve done in a long long time.  In the afternoon after school I put in 19 sentences from two Talk To Me in Korean  lessons with the audio. (I exported the selected sentences with Audacity).

I want to continue putting in more sentences from TTMIK, either from the Iyagi series or interesting sentences from the lessons. Although I know most of the vocabulary and grammar in the lessons every once in a while I come across a grammar point or some vocabulary that I either don’t know or am not too confident about.

All of the sentences I get from TTMIK I’m putting in a subdeck and including the audio as well. I want to focus on pronunciation, intonation and rhythm in the next month so any audio is essential and will be a good review for listening and speaking practice even when I’ve got the grammar and vocabulary down pat.

I also started putting sentences I read and like from Facebook into Anki as well so that I can review them and use them as models for my own writing. These I labeled under facebook so when I make my deck public I can exclude these (possibly confidential or private) cards from the deck.