I’m working through EBS 입이트이는 영어 September 2008 most of this month. It’s a good book — it provides a new paragraph for each day on different things that people tend to talk about. I’m getting a lot of good reading practice, because I read a new paragraph every day (except Sunday).

I’m still disappointed in how much help I get from my language helpers. Definitely more help from people then I was getting before March or whenever I really started working with language helpers (at least I think so), but still not so good. Going to Mongolia and getting a new job knocked me off my schedule.

I don’t have any roommate unfortunately. I did however post an advertisement in the Seoul craiglist for language helpers. Because I live nearer Seoul (and within commuting distance), I feel I have a whole new world of opportunities there to take advantage of. Because so far my old language helper pool has shrunken (because one member went to the army) and gone down in usefulness I still intend to use it, but greatly supplement it with a Saturday in Seoul every week.

My plan is to spend 8-9 hours every week in Seoul. There will be at least two (or maybe 3) weekends that I’ll have to cancel this Saturday array of sessions because of hiking programs the Bible study group.

If all goes well I still meet several hours a week with the old members (and maybe Garcia as well). Then every Saturday I take the trip to Seoul and study 9 hours there.

I got a response from one lady in Seoul. She’s a stay at home mom and seems interested in helping me learn Korean. I’m a little concerned she might want to be paid more than the 4,000W I am interested in paying per hour. However if she’s nice and is a good helper and doesn’t mind what I want to pay I have one person for my Saturday operation already.

I have three more people who have expressed interest in helping me.

Oh, a second person (also a lady) has said that she wants to help me. She is also free on Saturdays. Although I want to meet with both men and women helpers so I get practice with both kinds of speech and modes of expression, I think I might actually prefer working with women. I think they tend to be more understanding and more helpful.